Driving Me Insane

Published January 31, 2013 by inanortherntown

I used to think that I had the smartest car in the world. Harken back to a time when I lived in a temperate rain forest and frolicked in green parks filled with gigantic evergreen trees – an almost mythical place filled with bountiful coffee shops, delicious sushi bars and cheap pedicure salons. Sob.

I digress.

Anyway, back when I drove the golden streets of the magical kingdom, two or three times a year an extreme weather warning was issued for the temperatures would dip dangerously low to zero degrees, my smart and brave car would gently notify me that I might encounter “Possible Icy Roads”. “What a miracle of modern technology” I would say to myself, “a vehicle that really cares about my family’s wellbeing.”

Now that I have been banished to the frozen tundra, I know better. This car is pure evil and will take every opportunity to mock me mercilessly.

The first time I drove here and a “Possible Icy Roads” warning was issued – I snorted ironically. “Possible Icy Roads”? Really? What gave it away? The sheets of pure ice masquerading as roads? The fact that I am reading articles like “Walk Like A Penguin“?

Still the car continued on its daily quest to shake my sanity. When I started the car, the warning would appear; then it started appearing when I would try to turn left – the warning would appear AND the back end of the car would decide to go in another direction. Now it just randomly appears: driving, attempting to turn left, waiting at traffic lights, and recently when I’ve been sitting on the couch, I can feel the car taunting me from the garage.

Icy Roads

“Possible Icy Roads” – bring it. It’s going to take more than that to unhinge me.

5 comments on “Driving Me Insane

  • No, they are still trying to convince the government to move the deer crossing signs to a much safer location – who thought it was a good idea to set up a crosswalk for deer on the highway anyways? LMAO (wouldn’t it be nice if laughing would really make it smaller?)

  • Maybe you should see if the dealer can put an camera under the hood so it can “see” the conditions and give you a proper warning….. Without that option (if available) it can only guess. 🙂

  • I thought the roads in FMM were paved in gold? Maybe the gold is under the ice? Your dashboard says it’s -29 degrees outside. There would have to be a lot of gold to make that worth it! 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

        An Evolving Life

    Observations on food, travel, history & tradition

    YVR in a Car Plane Train Bus

    True strength is not a measure of the body. It is a measure of the soul.

    Fae's Twist & Tango

    Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

    The Belly Rumble

    foodie experiments from a student kitchen

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    Diane Gallagher Photos

    Photos taken around the world...

    Multifarious meanderings

    The odds and sods of everyday life.

    The World is My Cuttlefish

    Evocative, Effervescent and Eclectic Reflections on Travel, Life and a Certain Packet of Oatmeal

    Englishman in Italy

    An Englishman, his Sicilian wife and an Italian / English Dictionary

    sharechair

    Everyday Technology for Everyday Folks

    The High Heel Gourmet

    Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

    Life in Finland (and beyond)

    Odds and sods of a Canadian-Finn in Finland

    Life with Becky

    The Chaos Theory Personified

    The Dangerously Truthful Diary of a Sicilian Housewife

    An English woman in Sicily handling parenthood, corruption and a Sicilian mother-in-law, all at once

    It Is a Keeper

    Bringing you the BEST in Food, Family & Home

    Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

    Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

    Everyday Bright

    Dare to Shine

    The Happiness Project

    Just another WordPress.com site

    Stuff Dutch People Like

    Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

    Weightingfor50's Blog

    Fitness and Fun for the end of my 40's

