A Rant About Drivers #1

Published February 9, 2013 by inanortherntown

parking example

I saw this picture tonight on Twitter tonight from @Jon_Tupper remarking on another “parking hero” in the city and it reminded me that I have something to tell you – I drove over a meridian in the mall parking lot today.

Allow me to explain.

The traffic here is a nightmare; there is so much construction that even if the roads were clear of snow, there are no lines painted on the pavement and it seems to be one big free-for-all. For example, sometimes when driving in a one lane formation, with cars in front of me and behind me but NOT beside me, I’ll pass a construction sign saying “Left lane MUST turn left” and I’ll have a massive freak-out because – am in the left lane? I thought it was only one lane? I don’t think I want to turn left?

Not only is driving a nightmare – you should see the parking. There are piles of snow everywhere, there are no visible parking lines, and it has devolved into a free-for-all: cars are simply abandoned, sideways, front ways, taking up the space for two vehicles. It’s obviously insane. I mean just look at that picture – you get it, this is clearly not normal behaviour.

Anyway, I was at the mall this afternoon and I reversed out of my parking spot when I realized that this great big F150 on steroids had parked in the lane that I had to use to exit the parking lot. I’m totally not making this up. There were cars trying to take my spot (think mall city parking at Christmas) and I was blocked in. I did what any sensible person would have done and I drove over the lane meridian across oncoming traffic and then calmly turned onto the street to head home.

I have only been here a month – what is happening to me?

8 comments on “A Rant About Drivers #1

  • =D I read this with your next post! I totally get the parking/driving thing. Over December it was crazy here!! I didn’t understand crazy Christmas shopping until moving here! I bet Mr. Northern loved hearing about your meridian experience 🙂

  • My Sicilian husband has a cousin who moved to Canada a while ago. I’m pretty sure he must be responsible for all this somehow. Perhaps he’s working as a driving instructor….
    In Sicily people normally park diagonally across 2 or even 3 parking spaces to take advantage of the cooling shade cast by a large date palm or whatever. That way they can open the car door after their shopping spree without getting second degree skin burns from the super-heated metal. But in the snow? Maybe the cars just want to huddle together for warmth?

  • HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Has your car car going over the meridian shown up on twitter yet?? For the record: I’d probably have done the same thing. But since I didn’t, I can laugh. Right?!? It’s gotta e the cold though. Or maybe, it’s just Alberta??

  • Leave a Reply

        My Kitchen Witch

    Observations from an evolving life: food, travel, history & tradition

    YVR in a Car Plane Train Bus

    True strength is not a measure of the body. It is a measure of the soul.

    Fae's Twist & Tango

    Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

    The Belly Rumble

    foodie experiments from a student kitchen

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    Diane Gallagher Photos

    Photos taken around the world...

    Multifarious meanderings

    The odds and sods of everyday life.

    The World is My Cuttlefish

    Evocative, Effervescent and Eclectic Reflections on Travel, Life and a Certain Packet of Oatmeal

    Englishman in Italy

    An Englishman, his Sicilian wife and an Italian / English Dictionary

    sharechair

    Everyday Technology for Everyday Folks

    The High Heel Gourmet

    Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

    Life in Finland (and beyond)

    Odds and sods of a Canadian-Finn in Finland

    Life with Becky

    The Chaos Theory Personified

    The Dangerously Truthful Diary of a Sicilian Housewife

    An English woman in Sicily handling parenthood, corruption and a Sicilian mother-in-law, all at once

    It Is a Keeper

    Bringing you the BEST in Food, Family & Home

    Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

    Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

    Everyday Bright

    Dare to Shine

    The Happiness Project

    Just another WordPress.com site

    Stuff Dutch People Like

    Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

    Weightingfor50's Blog

    Fitness and Fun for the end of my 40's

