Heartwarming

Published January 7, 2014 by inanortherntown

Happy New Year!

We made it safely home trekking from the green lush promised land back up to the bitter cold north.  It took us three days to drive to our destination but FOUR days to drive home.  The roads were icy, the snow was blowing and the temperature kept dropping the further north we drove. 

Speaking of dropping temperatures, I can’t stop refreshing the weather channel – misery really does love company.  The Instagram shots of outside temperatures in all regions of North America are ghoulishly satisfying.  Did you see that one article that certain regions are currently colder than Mars?  I live for those type of articles.

Yesterday was my first day back at work after the break.  It was the worst kind of Monday: bitter cold with a savage wind chill and snowing.  The door closest to my parking spot was barricaded due to a pipe freezing and then bursting – the water damage is immense.I had to trudge around the building in the bitter cold with the savage chill…uphill……..you get the picture. 

All day long, all I could think about was trudging back around the building in the bitter cold and brushing all of the snow from my vehicle and how I really didn’t want to do it.  Really really didn’t want to do it.

Right at 5:00PM, my husband walked into my office and casually announced that he had driven down to my workplace, cleaned all the snow off my car and the car was warm and ready for me to drive home.

It was the very best ending to my day.

10 comments on “Heartwarming

  • Happy new year! What a lovely husband. It may sound strange to you, but the mere thought of snow makes me feel excited – probably because I haven’t seen any for so long. Our winter is uncharacteristically mild – my tulips are confused and have started poking their heads out of the ground. I keep telling them that the weather is going to turn soon and their leaves will freeze off, but they won’t listen 😦

  • Great to see you blogging again. I feel like you are right here talking to me. And what a nice husband, he knows you well. Lucky girl. Hugs, C.

  • Leave a Reply

        An Evolving Life

    Observations on food, travel, history & tradition

    YVR in a Car Plane Train Bus

    True strength is not a measure of the body. It is a measure of the soul.

    Fae's Twist & Tango

    Magazine of a Storyteller... articles about world cultures, travel, and recipes with a twist and tango ♪ ♪ ♪ ...

    The Belly Rumble

    foodie experiments from a student kitchen

    The Daily Post

    The Art and Craft of Blogging

    Diane Gallagher Photos

    Photos taken around the world...

    Multifarious meanderings

    The odds and sods of everyday life.

    The World is My Cuttlefish

    Evocative, Effervescent and Eclectic Reflections on Travel, Life and a Certain Packet of Oatmeal

    Englishman in Italy

    An Englishman, his Sicilian wife and an Italian / English Dictionary

    sharechair

    Everyday Technology for Everyday Folks

    The High Heel Gourmet

    Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

    Life in Finland (and beyond)

    Odds and sods of a Canadian-Finn in Finland

    Life with Becky

    The Chaos Theory Personified

    The Dangerously Truthful Diary of a Sicilian Housewife

    An English woman in Sicily handling parenthood, corruption and a Sicilian mother-in-law, all at once

    It Is a Keeper

    Bringing you the BEST in Food, Family & Home

    Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

    Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

    Everyday Bright

    Dare to Shine

    The Happiness Project

    Just another WordPress.com site

    Stuff Dutch People Like

    Your satirical guide to Dutch culture and the Netherlands!

    Weightingfor50's Blog

    Fitness and Fun for the end of my 40's

